I explain the legal process in a clear and concise manner. After all, this is your life, and you should understand exactly how the law affects it.
YOU WON'T GET ANYWHERE WITH A PASSIVE APPROACH
DUI, DWI IN DALLAS, TX
DWI or DUI? What's the difference between the two?
Many states don't have a distinction between Driving while Intoxicated (DWI) and Driving under the Influence (DUI). In Texas, the difference is a matter of age.
Texas law says a person commits the offense of DWI if he or she is intoxicated by the introduction of alcohol and/or drugs in their system. The law defines intoxication as having a BAC (Blood Alcohol Content) level of .08 or higher OR losing the normal use of mental or physical faculties because of alcohol or drug use.
A first time DWI is a class B misdemeanor. The range of punishment is a fine not to exceed $2000 and/or up to 180 days in jail. A first time DWI can be enhanced to a class A misdemeanor if your BAC is .15 or higher. The range of punishment for a class A misdemeanor is a fine not to exceed $4000 and/or up to a year in jail.
A DWI in the state of Texas is one of a few charges that can be enhanced each time you receive a conviction.
If you are arrested for DWI, your license could be suspended. You have 15 days from the date of arrest to request an ALR (Administrative License Revocation) hearing. If you do not request a hearing, your license will automatically be suspended for 90 days to 2 years depending on if the offense is a first time or subsequent offense.
“Tifanee was able to quickly help”- Brandon M.
“Tifanee was beyond great”- Devawn A.
“Ms. Baker was most efficient and aided in the successful outcome of my case”- Damon A.
“Attorney Tifanee Baker has got to be one of the best criminal justice attorneys in Dallas, TX”- Jamarcus J.
ACCUSED OF DUI/DWI?
The legal drinking age in Texas is 21 and over. It is illegal for anyone under the age of 21 to have any amount of alcohol in their system. If you are under the age of 21 and have any detectable amount of alcohol in your system, you could be arrested for DUI. Officers normally use DUI charges when pulling over a minor under suspicion of drinking and driving.
A first time DUI is a class C misdemeanor. The range of punishment is a fine not to exceed $500. However, if you are under the age of 21, you could still be arrested for DWI at the discretion of the arresting officer. If you are arrested for DUI, your license could be suspended as well.
There are many ways that a DWI charge can be handled. If you find yourself arrested for DWI/DUI, contact our office so we can help you resolve your case today.
WHy Choose US?
Some people say you shouldn't bring your work home, but I carry my clients and their stories with me. Each one touches me personally.
It feels good to win, but it feels even better to win ethically. I've been achieving steady results for eight years without any lies or deceit.
Take advantage of a free consultation with our team.